Call for Nominations 2015


*** Note: All information must now be submitted electronically ***


Phi Beta Delta is pleased to invite nominations from all its chapters for the following awards:

  1. One faculty award, the Yvonne Captain Faculty Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Education of $US750.00, plus waiver of conference fee to attend the 2015 International Conference, for outstanding contributions to the field of international education. The faculty nominees must also be members of Phi Beta Delta.
  2. One staff award, the Edward S. Blankenship Outstanding Staff Award (Non-Faculty or Faculty/Administrator), of $US750.00, plus waiver of conference fee to attend the 2015 International Conference, for outstanding leadership, and support of the development and activities of a local chapter of Phi Beta Delta.
  3. Two student awards of $US500.00 each, plus waiver of conference fee to attend the 2015 International Conference, to be given to students (undergraduate and graduate) who are members of Phi Beta Delta and have demonstrated great interest and involvement in international activities and superior scholastic achievement. One award, the Marian Beane / Charles Gliozzo Domestic Student Award for International Achievement, is designated for a student who is a citizen or permanent resident of the country in which the institution at which they are studying is located. The other award, the David Merchant International Student Award for Achievement, is for an international student (i.e., one studying as a visa student at the institution where the nominating chapter is located). Please note that to be eligible, students may not have graduated prior to the spring term of 2015.


Chapters may submit two student nominations—one for a domestic student and one from a student outside of the United States ; however, only one nomination may be submitted for the Faculty Award and one nomination for the Staff Award. Award recipients are expected to attend the awards ceremony held during the International Conference, where the presentations will be made. Award information and Nomination Cover Form as well as a list of previous recipients, are included on the Phi Beta Delta website:

Questions and requests for additional information should be directed to

Gary A. Cretser, Ph.D.
Phi Beta Delta, Director of Awards
Professor Emeritus, Sociology
Psychology & Sociology Department
Cal. Poly Pomona
3801 West Temple Avenue
Pomona, CA 91768
Tel: (909) 482-0954

Please complete the Nomination Cover Form online or print it and complete it. This form is in "PDF" format for easy printing. You should use a separate form for each nominee and also attach a letter of nomination summarizing the qualifications of the nominee for the award (as many as three additional letters of recommendation may be included). In addition, a curriculum vita and other supporting documents should accompany the nomination for the faculty award. The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2015 awards is February 12, 2015. All nomination materials should be submitted to the International Office of Phi Beta Delta at

The Awards Committee consists of one representative from each Region of Phi Beta Delta appointed by the President. The Awards Committee will review all nominations submitted and recommend the award recipients to the Board of Directors. Nominators will be contacted informing them of the disposition of their nomination(s). Award winners will also be contacted.

 Thanks to Dr. Paul Rich, we now have beautiful permanent trophies for each of the individual awards as well as the prize for the Eileen Evans Overall Outstanding Chapter Award.  Click on the image of each photo to get a larger image.  After checking them out, see how your chapter might win the Eileen Evans Award or how your chapter members might win the individual chapter awards with the information above. These are the permanent trophies that are housed at headquarters. Individual recipients receive a personalized plaque to take home from the Awards ceremony.

Trophies, from left to right:
The David Merchant International Student Award for Achievement, The Domestic Award for International Achievement, and The Edward S. Blankenship Outstanding Staff Award, the Eileen M. Evans Overall Outstanding Chapter Award, The Executive Director Cadastre, and the Faculty Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Education.